Price record
Inspire RH56: a 98% price drop export buyers never got
Domestic list prices for the RH56 line fell from more than 1,000,000 RMB to about 20,000 RMB in five years. The same hand still sells for $5,600 to $20,599 in the United States.
Inspire's RH56 fell from more than 1,000,000 RMB per unit before 2020 to about 20,000 RMB in 2024–25, a drop of roughly 98%. Export buyers did not receive that curve: in 2026 the same RH56DFX is listed between $5,600 and $20,599 by US channels. Both facts are public, and neither is a single price.
The domestic curve
Four points are reported consistently across an English market report, the vendor's own newsroom and two Chinese interviews with company executives.
| Period | Price | Source | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| Before 2020 | over 1,000,000 per hand, one or two units a year | Market report, 2026 | C |
| 2020 | under 100,000 at mass-production launch | Inspire newsroom, Mar 2026 | A |
| 2023 | about 50,000 | Market report, 2026 | C |
| 2024–25 | about 20,000, mainstream model | Market report; executive interview | C |
| 2024–25 | 10,000–50,000 across the shelf | Executive interview | C |
| Stated target | 10,000 | Market report | C |
Two cross-checks support the shape. At a 2026 economic forum, general manager Li Maosong described the same arc: 1,000,000 to 100,000 in 2020, then 20,000 to 50,000 in 2025. In a separate interview, CMO Fang Hainan placed the 50,000 to 20,000 step across 2023–24 and noted that total industry shipments the prior year were still under 20,000 units. That last number matters. This is a price collapse in a small market, not yet a volume commodity.
Inspire attributes the reduction to in-house micro servo cylinders and integrated joints, with a Suzhou plant rated at 500,000 cylinders and about 50,000 hands a year. The vendor reports more than 10,000 hand deliveries in 2025; a Chinese research summary says 12,000. Both figures are published here.
The export curve did not follow
| Listing | Price | Context | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|
| US storefront snapshot | $5,600 | 11 Aug 2026, eight-brand exercise | C |
| Academic paper | ~$8,000 | Lab purchase, configuration not stated | C |
| US dealer | $10,500 | Dealer playbook | A |
| US dealer comparison | $20,599 | Configuration not stated | A |
That is a 3.7× spread on one model name. It is not a currency effect. The higher listings bundle a wrist adapter, cabling, warranty handling and import costs, and at least one appears to price a configured system rather than a bare hand. The channel analysis breaks down what the extra money buys.
What did not change
The hardware. The vendor's selection guide lists six actuated degrees of freedom across 12 joints, 540 g, RS-485, 24 V DC and ±0.20 mm repeatability, and those figures hold across the period covered here. The price movement is a story about manufacturing scale and channel structure, not about the hand getting simpler each generation. That distinction is the reason to keep a dated record instead of a single current-price field.
What is not verified
- The 2023 50,000 RMB point has no primary price list behind it. It appears in a retrospective report and is consistent with executive interviews, but no dated 2023 catalog or archived dealer page was located.
- The pre-2020 figure describes a market where one or two units sold per year. There may never have been a published list price.
- Each of the four USD listings may describe a different configuration. None states one.
Questions
What did the RH56 cost in 2020?
Under 100,000 RMB at the mass-production launch, down from more than 1,000,000 per hand before 2020 according to the vendor and market reports.
Why is the US price not falling in line?
The RMB figures are domestic ex-works prices. US listings add reseller margin, warranty handling, documentation, import costs and sometimes a wrist adapter.
Is 10,000 RMB the current price?
No. It is a stated target cited in press coverage, not a published list price.
Sources
- Inspire Robots newsroom. Mass production and pricing, March 2026. 2026-03
- English market report on Chinese hand pricing. RMB price points 2020–2026. 2026
- Jiefang Daily interview with Inspire CMO. Shelf range and shipment context. 2026
- NetEase Economists Summer Forum remarks. Price arc 2020–2025. 2026
- US storefront pricing snapshot. USD observations. 2026-08-11
- Correll Lab RH56DFX paper. Academic purchase price. 2026
Record log
- Record created. Four RMB points and four USD observations captured.
- Mass conflict noted: 10,000 vendor deliveries against 12,000 in a research summary.