Hand record · South Korea
Allegro Hand V5
The long-running torque-control reference in academic manipulation, with per-joint torque sensing and the most complete ROS support of any hand in this index.
- Actuated DOF
- 16all actuated
- Mass
- 1.1 kg
- Price observed
- $13,000 – $21,450
- Evidence tier
- B
The Allegro Hand has been the default torque-controlled platform in manipulation research for more than a decade. Four fingers, four joints each, 16 brushless DC motors and a torque sensor on every joint. If a paper from the last ten years compares a new hand against a commercial baseline, the Allegro is usually the baseline.
It is also the hand whose public price is hardest to pin down. The most specific figure is $13,000 for a named V5 on a live US dealer listing, repeated in that dealer's 2026 playbook with 16 DOF, 16 brushless DC servo motors and CAN or USB with ROS support. The same dealer network publishes $21,450 for an Allegro Hand with no version stated, and older market reports quote roughly $15,000–16,000.
Why this is a spread, not a trend
It would be easy, and wrong, to write that Allegro prices rose 65% in a year. The two dealer figures may describe different revisions or bundles, they were captured on different pages at different times, one names V5 and the other does not, and neither is a Wonik price list. So the channel record publishes the labels as they appear instead of drawing a line through them.
That has a practical consequence. The LEAP Hand paper's claim to beat the Allegro at one eighth of the cost needs a denominator: $13,000 implies about $1,625, while $21,450 implies about $2,681. The published $2,066 LEAP v1 kit lands between the two.
What you get for the premium
- Per-joint torque sensing. The LEAP Hand has none, and the Inspire RH56DFX infers force from motor current. For impedance control and contact-rich work this is the difference between measuring and guessing.
- Maintained software. Wonik supports ROS, and community ports exist for MuJoCo and Isaac. The hand works with mature tooling on day one.
- A known baseline. Reviewers recognize the platform, which shortens the argument about whether your results are comparable.
Who should not buy it
Do not buy it for a cost-sensitive teaching lab: one Allegro costs six LEAP kits, and the six kits will teach the same ROS basics. Do not buy it expecting tactile sensing either. A fingertip tactile array is an add-on, not part of the standard hand, and the 1.1 kg mass at the wrist is enough to change the arm you need.
Specification
The right-hand column records where each field comes from: vendor documentation, a dealer page, or a conflict between sources. Fields marked unverified have no attributable public value.
Price observations
| Item | Channel | Price | Date | Includes | Tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allegro Hand V5 | US dealer | $13,000 | 2026 | Hand, CAN or USB, ROS support | A |
| Allegro Hand, version not stated | US dealer comparison | $21,450 | 2026 | Not stated | A |
| Allegro Hand | Market report | ~$16,000 / 110,000 RMB | 2026 | Characterization, no primary source | C |
| Allegro Hand | Industry survey | ~$15,000 | 2026 | Survey figure | C |
Tier A: documented list price. B: sources disagree by more than 15%. C: estimate or press figure. D: quote only. See methodology.
What is not verified
- No Wonik published price list has been located.
- The $21,450 listing does not state a version, region or bundle.
- The Robotiq channel is often mentioned in secondary sources; no attributable Robotiq price page was found, so no Robotiq figure appears here.
Questions buyers ask
How much does an Allegro Hand cost?
Public observations run from $13,000 for a named V5 to $21,450 for an unversioned listing. The V5 figure is the one with a version attached, so it is the better budget number.
Does the Allegro have torque sensors?
Yes, on every joint. That is the main technical difference from cheaper 16-DOF hands, which estimate force from motor current.
Is it still supported?
Wonik maintains ROS support and the hand is still sold. Community ports exist for MuJoCo and Isaac.
Sources
- Wonik Robotics. Allegro Hand product documentation. 2026
- US dealer playbook. V5 price and specification. 2026
- US dealer comparison page. Unversioned $21,450 listing. 2026
- Market report on Chinese hand pricing. Historical Allegro characterization. 2026
Record log
- Record created. Six public price observations captured with labels.